Kosher vs Halal

Understand Kosher vs Halal

Differences between Kosher and Halal

Kosher vs Halal 194x300 Kosher vs HalalThere are many misconceptions about Kosher and Halal, even among Jews and Muslims. Worldwide, many Kosher producers think that Muslims accept Kosher as meeting Halal standards and requirements.

Even Muslims, too, accepted Kosher because they believed that Kosher slaughtering ritual (Shechita) was similar to that of Islamic ritual of slaughtering (Dhabh).

As Muslims become more aware, they are more informed about the differences between Kosher and Halal and are now less receptive of Kosher as Halal substitute.

 

The following are some examples of the differences:

In Dhabh, the name of Allah has to be invoked individually on each animal to be slaughtered as follows:“Bismillah, Allahu Akbar”

(In the name of Allah; Allah is the Greatest)

However, in Shechita, it is sufficient to recite the name of God or grace once for the day for all slaughters.

In Kosher slaughtering, the Sochet (Jewish slaughterman) must perform the slaughter in a single, swift, uninterrupted sweep. In Islamic slaughter, the process must be carried in a single swift sweep by a sane Muslim man or woman. However, if he/she were to raise his/her hand before the Dhabh is completed and immediately returns to the process, it would still render the Halal meat.

Islam considers the entire cattle or sheep as Halal if duly slaughtered but Jews use only the fore-quarter as Kosher and consider the hind-quarter as non-Kosher.

Meat of rabbit, shell fish, wild hens, goose, and duck are considered permissible in the eyes of the Islamic Law but they are prohibited in Kashrut.

Kosher red wine Kosher vs HalalIslam prohibits all intoxicating alcohols, liquors, wines, and drugs. However, Kashrut considers all wines Kosher.

Mixing dairy and meat is prohibited in kosher foods, but is not an issue in halal.

Gelatin is considered Kosher (regardless of its origin, even from non-Kosher animals). If the Gelatin is of non-Halal (e.g. swine) origin, then Muslims consider it as Haram.

In cheese making, the end-product is regarded as Haram if enzymes from non-Halal sources are utilised. According to Kashrut, enzymes are considered mere secretion and all cheeses are Kosher, irrespective of the sources of the enzymes, even though they may be from non-Kosher animals.

Kosher and halal foods are similar: Both prohibit the use of pork, pork products and blood in food

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

What Really Is Halal Food ?

Any Halal meat are foods that are allowed under Islamic dietary guidelines or permitted for consumption. Halal foods are the nature way of life as good, wholesome, pure, safe, clean, nourishing and healthy to consume.

Halal Food Guide

Remember, Halal can be eaten by non Muslims, however Muslims will only eat Halal Only.

Search by keywords

Latest Comments